AIR AMBULANCE MEMBERSHIP ORGANIZATIONS
The Wyoming Department of Insurance regulates air ambulance membership organizations pursuant to authority granted in W.S. §26-43-301 et seq. Air ambulance membership organizations are organizations that offer memberships where persons can pay fees or dues in exchange for discounted air ambulance service or access to discounted service from other air ambulance providers. The statutes provide for the regulation of air ambulance membership organizations by the Insurance Commissioner and requires organizations to seek a certificate of registration from the Commissioner before operating in Wyoming and requires an annual renewal.
The Insurance Commissioner may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration if an air ambulance membership organization misrepresents its services, engages in unfair practices, or fails to fulfill its obligations to members. The Commissioner may impose a civil penalty or issue a cease-and-desist order.
The statutes specify what fees and charges an air ambulance membership organization may charge to its members and requires organizations to provide certain notices and disclosures to members and prospective members regarding memberships that the organization offers and imposes requirements on the advertisements of air ambulance membership organizations.
APPLICATION & RENEWAL
In order to apply to sell Air Ambulance Memberships to the citizens of Wyoming all of the forms below must be submitted in paper copy with a check for the $500 application fee to:
Wyoming Department of Insurance
ATTN: Air Ambulance Registration
106 E. 6th Ave.
Cheyenne, WY 82002
An air ambulance membership organization wishing to renew their registration with the Department must submit the forms below in paper copy and a check for the amount of $300 no later than 90 days before the expiration of the current certificate of registration.