ADJUSTER LICENSING
REQUIREMENTS, FEES, & FAQS

HOW DO I GET A WYOMING ADJUSTER LICENSE?

WYOMING RESIDENTS

Anyone 18 years old or older can apply for an insurance license. The steps you need to follow if you are a Wyoming resident are:

  1. Pass the Wyoming Insurance Adjuster Licensing Exam
    *NOTE: If you are applying to be a crop insurance adjuster you may bypass the exam if you hold a CAP certification

  2. Apply for your license and pay the licensing fees
    *Providing all available documents regarding any administrative actions or criminal convictions you may have will shorten the time necessary for review of your application. In most circumstances, a license may be granted even if you have felony convictions. However, additional documentation and written permission from the Commissioner will be necessary for certain felony convictions.

  3. Get your fingerprints taken and sent to the Department for a background check (A fingerprinting packet will be mailed to you after you have applied)

NON-RESIDENTS

If your resident state licenses adjusters, you must be licensed in your resident state before you may apply for a non-resident Wyoming adjuster license. Wyoming does not reciprocate with New York or Arizona adjuster licenses.

If your resident state does not license adjusters, you must first acquire a Designated Home State adjuster license. Wyoming accepts the following designated home state licenses for the purposes of non-resident licensing:

  • AL, AR, CA, FL, ID, KY, LA, MN, MT, NV, NC, OK, TX, UT, WV

DESIGNATED HOME STATE LICENSING

Wyoming offers a designated home state license that is accepted in all US states. The process for obtaining a DHS license is as follows:

  1. Pass the Wyoming Designated Home State Adjuster exam

  2. Apply for your license and pay the licensing fees
    *Providing all available documents regarding any administrative actions or criminal convictions you may have will shorten the time necessary for review of your application. In most circumstances, a license may be granted even if you have felony convictions. However, additional documentation and written permission from the Commissioner will be necessary for certain felony convictions.

  3. Get your fingerprints taken and sent to the Department for a background check. (A fingerprinting packet will be mailed to you after we receive your application.)

HOW DO I SCHEDULE AN EXAM?

You may schedule your exam through our testing vendor, Pearson Vue ↗


WHERE CAN I FIND EXAM STUDY MATERIALS?

The Wyoming Department of Insurance does not endorse any providers for pre-licensing education. The providers below are known to have pre-licensing study materials. They are listed for informational purposes only.

Adjuster Pro ↗

Agent Broker Training Center ↗

HOW DO I APPLY FOR A LICENSE?

You may apply for your license online through Sircon ↗

Must must pass your exam prior to applying for your license. If you are applying for the crop line of authority you must pass the crop exam OR hold your CAP card prior to applying.

WHAT ARE THE LICENSING FEES?

Initial fee: $100
Renewal fee:
Wyoming Residents: $100, Non-Residents: $150
Any combination of the lines of authority listed below

  • Property

  • Casualty

  • Crop

Fingerprinting Fee (required for all resident or DHS applicants) - $39

DO I NEED TO SEND IN FINGERPRINTS?

If you are a Wyoming resident or DHS applicant you will need to be fingerprinted in order to obtain a background check.

A fingerprinting packet will be mailed to you after we receive your application. DO NOT SEND IN YOUR FINGERPRINTS BEFORE YOU HAVE APPLIED! If we do not have an application on file the fingerprint cards will be destroyed.

There is no fingerprinting requirement for non-residents who are not applying for a DHS license.

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE TO GET MY LICENSE AFTER I APPLY?

The typical turnaround time from application to issuance of a resident license is 30 days.

Processing time for your background check usually runs 2-3 weeks from the day we receive your fingerprints.

There are many factors that may slow down the process, including mail service, background check processing, and added time needed for additional documentation related to information uncovered during your background check. Please make sure that all required documentation is submitted with your application to reduce the time it takes to process your license.

Many non-resident license applications are approved the same day.

WHEN DO I RENEW MY LICENSE?

Your license renews every two years on the last day of the month of your birthday.

For example, if you were born on July 4th and your license is approved on December 6, 2021, your first renewal date will be July 31, 2023. Your next renewal date will be July 31, 2025 and July 31 every two years thereafter.

HOW DO I RENEW MY LICENSE?

Renewals may be submitted through Sircon ↗

WYOMING RESIDENTS & DHS LICENSEES

In order to renew you must pay the fee and complete your continuing education requirement of 24 hours of continuing education, with 3 of those hours being ethics. You will be able to pay your renewal fees 90 days before the renewal date.

NON-RESIDENTS

In order to renew your license must be in good standing in your resident state and you must pay the renewal fees. You will be able to pay your renewal fees 90 days before the renewal date.

I MISSED MY RENEWAL DATE. WHAT SHOULD I DO?

If you have missed your renewal date your license will be in a reinstatement period for one year. During that time you may reinstate your license by paying a late fee. The license will have the same expiration date as if it were renewed on time. Please note that all continuing education requirements must be met before reinstatement may be processed.

After the reinstatement period of one calendar year is over you must reapply for the license as if you were applying for the first time. For residents this means taking the licensing exam again and going through the fingerprinting process for a new background check.

I AM MOVING TO/FROM A DIFFERENT STATE. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO?

IF YOU ARE MOVING INTO WYOMING FROM ANOTHER STATE

  1. Reach out to the Department of Insurance in the state from which you are moving and request a letter of clearance. Please note that when the letter of clearance is granted your license will be inactivated in that state.

  2. Send a paper copy of the letter of clearance, a paper copy of the Wyoming Adjuster License Application* and a check for the appropriate licensing fees to:

Wyoming Department of Insurance
ATTN: Licensing Division
106 E. 6th Ave.
Cheyenne, WY 82002

IF YOU ARE MOVING FROM WYOMING TO ANOTHER STATE

  1. Fill out a letter of clearance request form* and email it to insurancelicensing@wyo.gov. Please note that when a letter of clearance is issued your Wyoming license will be inactivated.

  2. Contact the Department of Insurance in your new resident state to find the appropriate procedures to follow when transferring your license.

  3. If you would like to keep working with clients in Wyoming you may apply for a Wyoming non-resident producer license after your new resident license has been approved.

I NO LONGER NEED MY LICENSE. WHAT SHOULD I DO?

If you wish to give up your license you may surrender it by filling out a voluntary surrender request form* and emailing it to insurancelicensing@wyo.gov. Please note that if you surrender your license as a resident you will need to take the licensing exam(s) again if you would like to reactivate your license.