EMERGENCY ADJUSTER LICENSING
WHAT TRIGGERS EMERGENCY ADJUSTER ELIGIBILITY?
Wyoming does not license emergency adjusters unless a catastrophe has first been declared by the Commissioner of Insurance. When a disaster is declared a red notice will appear at the top of the Department website.
The relevant statute is W.S. § 26-9-219(c) ↗, which states:
A Wyoming adjuster’s license is required of any adjuster who by physical appearance or through electronic or other means, acts in this state on behalf of an insurer for the purpose of investigating or making adjustment of a particular loss under an insurance policy unless the loss is of an unusual, uncommon or unique nature requiring special expertise or knowledge not readily available among adjusters licensed in this state, or for the adjustment of a series of losses resulting from a catastrophe common to those losses. Any insurer on whose behalf an adjuster who is not licensed in Wyoming investigates or adjusts a loss in this state, whether by physical appearance or through electronic or other means, shall notify the commissioner of such action prior to the unlicensed adjuster acting in this state.
WHO MAY RECEIVE EMERGENCY ADJUSTER AUTHORIZATION?
Only insurers admitted in Wyoming may request emergency authorization for adjusters. They may request authorization for any person who wishes to act as an emergency adjuster, as long as that person is licensed for the requested lines in their home state or an acceptable DHS.
HOW DO I APPLY FOR EMERGENCY ADJUSTER AUTHORIZATION?
Individuals may not apply for emergency adjuster authorization. Authorization must be requested by the insurer for which the individual will be adjusting claims during the catastrophe.
Insurers wishing to license emergency adjusters will send an Emergency Adjuster Registration Form* and a master spreadsheet each day documenting all emergency adjusters who have been used thus far, and previously unused adjusters the company wishes to use the next day to firstname.lastname@example.org. Only one spreadsheet should be sent each day. Authorization must be granted prior to sending the adjuster to the field. The spreadsheet shall contain:
Insurer's name and five digit NAIC number
Date for which authorization is requested
For each individual adjuster:
First name, last name, and date of birth of the adjuster
Adjuster's NPN, home state, and home state license number
Adjuster's mobile phone number & business email address
HOW LONG WILL EMERGENCY AUTHORIZATION BE ALLOWED?
Emergency authorization will be allowed for no longer than 90 days.
After 90 days or the end of the catastrophe declaration, whichever comes first, an adjuster must hold a Wyoming adjuster license to adjust claims in Wyoming.