Licensing‎ > ‎

Fingerprints



Fingerprints for Criminal History Record Check—Effective July 1, 2011


Legal Authority
Who Must Submit to Fingerprinting
  • Resident Licensees
  • Nonresident Adjusters Designating Wyoming as their home state.
Initial License Defined
  • Fingerprints are required for the applicant’s “initial” license.
  • Initial license means:
    • First insurance license with the Department requiring a background check.
    • Previous licensee who is past the 12-month reinstatement period.
  • Fingerprints are not required of persons transferring a resident license from another state.
Fee for Criminal History Record Check
  • Fee $39.00
  • Fee may be included with the appropriate application fee.
  • If applying by paper, send the criminal history record fee to the Department with the insurance license application.

 

Fingerprint Cards and Instructions
  • Effective July 1, 2011.
  • Upon receipt of licensing application and appropriate fees, the Department will send a fingerprint packet to the applicant.
  • Instructions, cards and return envelopes will be included in the packet.
  • Applicants will make arrangements with local law enforcement to obtain fingerprints.
  • The Division of Criminal Investigations (DCI) in Cheyenne provides fingerprint services by appointment.
  • Applicants must use the fingerprint cards provided by the Department.
  • Local law enforcement and DCI will charge a fee to complete the cards. This fee is the responsibility of the applicant and is generally $5.
  • The Insurance Department will obtain the criminal history report from DCI.
  • All criminal history reports and fingerprints cards are considered confidential information.
Timing
  • Criminal history reports may take 4-6 weeks from receipt of acceptable fingerprints.
  • Applications will not be processed until the criminal history report is received.
Role of Background Report in Licensing
  • Background checks are required by law to ensure that licensee is trustworthy, honest and fit for licensure pursuant to the Wyoming Insurance Code.
  • It is important that the applicant answer each question on the application honestly and provide required documentation.
  • Licenses will not be issued until the Department has determined that the individual meets all requirements and is fit for licensure.
  • Correspondence regarding any issues will be mailed to the applicant upon the Department's review of the criminal history report.