Licensing‎ > ‎

Appointments



List of Active Company Appointments

A list of active insurance company appointments are available using the Database Search from the Department’s web site. Database Search.

Appointing Producers

A producer must be appointed by an insurer to act as the insurer’s agent. Both individual and business entities must have an appointment with that insurer.

The appointment must be received within 15 days of the date the agency contract is executed or the first insurance application is submitted.

Electronic appointments are encouraged for accuracy and expediency. Services are available through Sircon or NIPR.

If appointing multiple producers, the insurer may want to contact the vendors to establish an account for monthly billing and bulk transactions.

If filing a paper appointment form, mail to Wyoming Insurance Department, 106 E. 6th Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82002. Appointment Form

Appointment filing fee: $15.00


Termination of Appointments

An insurer must notify the Department of a termination of an appointment within 30 days.

Terminations may be completed electronically (preferred) via Sircon or NIPR, or by using the Appointment Termination Form.

Appointment Termination Filing Fee: $15.00

 


Notification Requirements:
  • Within 15 days of notifying the Department, the insurer must mail a copy of the notification to the producer whose appointment is being terminated.
  • Within 30 days of receiving notification from the insurer, the producer may file written comments with the Department and the reporting insurer.
  • Upon written request of the commissioner, the insurer shall provide additional information, documents or other records pertaining to the termination or activity of the producer.
  • Documents received regarding termination of appointments are considered confidential. 

Termination for Cause


An Appointment is terminated for cause if the insurer has ended its agency relationship with a producer for one of the reasons set forth in Wyoming Statute §26-9-211. Statutes.

 


If an appointment has been terminated for cause, the insurer must:
  • Terminate the appointment, following the process noted above.
  • Send notification to the producer, as noted above.
  • Report to the Department on the Termination for Cause Reporting Form, including supporting documentation. 
  • Terminating an appointment for cause will trigger an investigation into the producer’s actions.
  • Mail Termination for Cause Reporting Forms to: Wyoming Insurance Department, 106 E. 6th Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82002.


Wyoming Insurance Laws:
Wyoming Appointment Regulations: